Go to the U of M home page

Thursday, March 3, 2016

Tech Tuesdays: Google Drive tips and tricks

It’s very easy to drag files and folders around in Google Drive, too easy in fact, and dragging items moves them for everyone in your domain… so take care.

If you are about to “Move” a folder Google does warn you – so watch out for pop-up windows warning about sharing, if you see one, carefully consider whether you do want to “Move” the folder out of a shared area.

When working with shared files and folders, it is important to remember to use the Add to My Drive button instead of dragging the file/folder to My Drive. Using the Add button does just that: it adds the item to your drive without changing the location of the file or folder for other users. Dragging the item moves it for everyone and some users may lose access. If you attempt to add something to your drive and see a pop-up warning that you are moving the item, take heed and do not continue unless you are sure that you want to move it out of the shared area.

Check out this Google support document to Add files to My Drive for additional help.

If you are looking for a file or folder you have shared with someone else and can no longer find it, click on the information icon (the small i in a circle) on the upper right of your drive to see recent activity. You can see which items have been moved, removed (trashed), renamed, shared/unshared, edited, and more, so it may help you locate what you are looking for.

Join the ASR Tech Tuesdays Google Group here, which will give you access to all past posts, presentations and materials, as well as membership to a community of like-minded and helpful people.

No comments:

Post a Comment